Home › Guides › Email & data

Microsoft 365 Backup Compared for Small Offices

By Justin N. · Published 2026-10-23 · This page may contain affiliate links

Microsoft 365 keeps deleted email and files for a few weeks, and Microsoft says protecting your data is your job. If you decide you need a real backup, the choice for a small office comes down to Microsoft's own Microsoft 365 Backup or a third-party service. Here's what Microsoft 365 Backup, Acronis, IDrive and CloudAlly each back up, how they charge, and how restores work, using each vendor's own pages.

Prices checked Oct 2026. Prices are U.S. dollar list prices from each vendor's official page, checked on 2026-10-23. Microsoft facts come from Microsoft Learn, checked the same day. I haven't tested these products for this guide. Where a vendor's page doesn't state something, the table says so rather than guessing. If you're still deciding whether you need backup at all, start with what Microsoft 365 already keeps for you.

Why backup is your job, not Microsoft's

The full table of built-in windows is in What Microsoft 365 keeps for you.

The four options side by side

Microsoft 365 BackupAcronis (Cyber Protect Backup Advanced)IDrive (Microsoft Office 365 Backup)CloudAlly (OpenText Cloudally Backup)
Exchange (mail, calendar, contacts)YesYesYesYes
OneDriveYesYesYesYes
SharePointYesYesYesYes
TeamsNot listed as its own workload. Teams channel files live in SharePoint sites, so backing up those sites covers the files.YesYes ("Teams & Groups")Yes ("Groups and Teams")
Pricing modelPay-as-you-go per GB of protected data, billed through an Azure subscriptionPer seat, sold in packs of 5 seats, with 1-, 3- or 5-year termsPer seatPer user (Microsoft Complete) or per 10 GB per service (Files & Collaboration). Quote only.
List price (prices checked Oct 2026)$0.15 per GB per month. Restores are free.$209.00 per year for a 5-seat pack$20.00 per seat per year, or $2 per seat on a monthly plan. Entra ID backup is $10.00 per seat per year extra.No public price. You fill in a form for a quote.
StorageInside Microsoft 365, in append-only storageUnlimited Acronis cloud storage includedUnlimited storage included, in a choice of 12 regionsAmazon AWS S3, with data center choices in the UK, USA, Canada, Germany and Australia. You can also bring your own S3-compatible storage.
RetentionSet per policy to 3 months, 6 months, 1 year or 2 yearsNot stated on the pages I checked. Ask before you buy.Not stated as a time period on the page I checked. IDrive describes snapshot schedules for point-in-time recovery. Ask before you buy.Unlimited retention
Backup frequencyRestore points every 10 minutes for the past two weeks for OneDrive and SharePoint (then weekly), and every 10 minutes for 52 weeks for ExchangeNot stated on the pages I checked3 times a dayDaily, or on request
RestoreWhole OneDrive accounts and SharePoint sites rolled back to a point in time, to the same or a new URL. Exchange items restored to the same or a new folder.Granular restore of emails, files, sites, contacts and attachmentsRestore files, folders, emails, contacts and calendars to the user's account or download themPoint-in-time, non-destructive restore of single items or whole mailboxes, including to another user
SourcesMicrosoft LearnAcronis purchasing, Acronis Microsoft 365 backupIDriveCloudAlly pricing, OpenText product page

Teams and SharePoint: Microsoft says each team is connected to a SharePoint site where its files are stored, and each private or shared channel gets its own site (Teams and SharePoint integration). Teams chat messages aren't files, and the Microsoft 365 Backup page doesn't list them.

What each one is like

Microsoft 365 Backup

Microsoft's own product backs up OneDrive accounts, SharePoint sites and Exchange mailboxes, and keeps the copy inside the Microsoft 365 boundary in append-only storage. If you stop using it, Microsoft keeps a fixed 90-day grace period in which you can still recover your backups. Microsoft also says Purview retention and deletion policies don't affect the backup recovery window (Overview of Microsoft 365 Backup). To set it up you need an Azure subscription for billing and the SharePoint Administrator or Global Administrator role (Set up Microsoft 365 Backup). Billing shows up in Azure Cost Management (Microsoft 365 Backup billing).

Acronis

For a business buying directly, Acronis sells Microsoft 365 backup only in its Cyber Protect Backup Advanced edition, in packs of five seats. Acronis says one seat is a Microsoft 365 user or a shared mailbox, and a seat that also has access to backed-up SharePoint sites and Teams counts once. Its example: 20 Exchange Online users plus one shared mailbox is 21 seats (Acronis purchasing options). The Microsoft 365 seat pack covers Exchange Online, OneDrive, SharePoint, Teams and Entra ID backup, with unlimited cloud storage (Acronis store). Acronis also scans Microsoft 365 backups for malware.

IDrive

IDrive charges per seat, where a seat is a Microsoft 365 user, and includes unlimited storage. It covers OneDrive, Outlook and Exchange, SharePoint, and Teams and Groups. Entra ID backup is a separate $10 per seat per year. IDrive says a paid subscription needs at least one active seat to back up SharePoint sites, Teams and Groups, or Entra ID (IDrive Microsoft Office 365 Backup).

CloudAlly

CloudAlly is now part of OpenText and sold as OpenText Cloudally Backup. There are two Microsoft 365 options: Microsoft Complete, priced per user, which requires activating all Exchange users, and Files & Collaboration, priced per 10 GB per service with no minimum. You request a quote for both (CloudAlly pricing). The main difference from the others is retention. OpenText says retention is unlimited (OpenText Cloudally Backup for Microsoft 365).

Worked example: a 15-person office

This assumes 15 licensed users, one shared mailbox, and 300 GB of mail and files in total. The 300 GB is a made-up number for the example. Check your real storage in the Microsoft 365 admin center before you estimate. List prices checked Oct 2026.

OptionArithmeticPer year
Microsoft 365 Backup300 GB × $0.15 × 12 months$540.00, rising as your data grows
Acronis16 seats (15 users + 1 shared mailbox) needs 4 packs of 5: 4 × $209.00$836.00
IDrive15 seats × $20.00$300.00 (more if IDrive counts the shared mailbox as a seat. Its page doesn't say.)
CloudAllyNo public priceAsk for a quote

Which to pick

This is my opinion, not a test result.

Where to start

Sources

Accuracy note: Microsoft changes admin center menus and licensing often. Paths and prices were checked against Microsoft documentation on 2026-10-23. If something has moved, tell me at [email protected].